Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Author Visit: E. Janet Johnson

Registration now closed

Author Visit: E. Janet Johnson

The Rebel Coat

2024-06-06 18:00:00 2024-06-06 19:00:00 America/Chicago Author Visit: E. Janet Johnson Dr. E. Janet Johnson will present her new book, The Rebel Coat, and share her unprecedented journey across the Soviet Union in the midst of the Cold War in the 1970s. Downtown Library - MEETING ROOM A/B

Thursday, June 06
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-06-06 18:00:00 2024-06-06 19:00:00 America/Chicago Author Visit: E. Janet Johnson Dr. E. Janet Johnson will present her new book, The Rebel Coat, and share her unprecedented journey across the Soviet Union in the midst of the Cold War in the 1970s. Downtown Library - MEETING ROOM A/B

Downtown Library

MEETING ROOM A/B

Dr. E. Janet Johnson will present her new book, The Rebel Coat, and share her unprecedented journey across the Soviet Union in the midst of the Cold War in the 1970s.

A collection of narrative poems from 50 years ago and integrated photos, The Rebel Coat is a revealing perspective of life in the former USSR. Janet and her scientist husband, Dr. W. Carter Johnson, were tasked with traveling across the USSR to gather botanical data for the International Biological Program. Equipped with basic Russian skills and their guitar, the Johnsons were able to connect with hundreds of people across their six month journey and document their stories.

Dr. E. Janet Johnson is a retired professor of English from South Dakota State University and Augustana graduate. 

Books will be available for purchase following the event.

Registration is required. If you have questions, please call 605-367-8700.

If an ADA accommodation is needed, please contact the City of Sioux Falls Human Relations Office at 367-8745 or human.relations@siouxfalls.gov at least 72 hours before the event.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Author/Speaker |

TAGS: | Author visit |

Downtown Library

library.ask@siouxfalls.gov
Phone: 605-367-8700
Fax: 605-367-4312

Hours
Mon, Jun 10 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 11 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 12 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jun 13 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jun 14 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 15 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Upcoming events

Mon, Jun 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
YS Program Room

Tue, Jun 18, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Play & Learn Room

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
CONFERENCE ROOM
This event is full

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 20, 9:00am - 11:00am

Thu, Jun 20, 9:30am - 11:15am

Fri, Jun 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
YS Program Room

Sat, Jun 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
YS Program Room

Canceled
Sat, Jun 22, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 22, 2:15pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 22, 2:30pm - 2:45pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 22, 2:45pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
MEETING ROOM A/B

Tue, Jun 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
MEETING ROOM A

Tue, Jun 25, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Play & Learn Room

Tue, Jun 25, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Library

Tue, Jun 25, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
This event is full

Wed, Jun 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
YS Program Room

Thu, Jun 27, 9:00am - 11:00am
CONFERENCE ROOM

Thu, Jun 27, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
YS Program Room
This event is full

Fri, Jun 28, 10:00am - 10:30am
YS Program Room

Sat, Jun 29, 9:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Sat, Jun 29, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 29, 2:15pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 29, 2:30pm - 2:45pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 29, 2:45pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jul 02, 9:00am - 11:00am
CONFERENCE ROOM

Tue, Jul 02, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Play & Learn Room

Tue, Jul 02, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
CONFERENCE ROOM
This event is full

Tue, Jul 02, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Please contact the library to register for this event.

Fri, Jul 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
YS Program Room

Canceled
Sat, Jul 06, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 06, 2:15pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 06, 2:30pm - 2:45pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 06, 2:45pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jul 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
YS Program Room

Tue, Jul 09, 9:00am - 11:00am
CONFERENCE ROOM

Tue, Jul 09, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Play & Learn Room

Wed, Jul 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
YS Program Room
Please contact the library to register for this event.

Thu, Jul 11, 9:30am - 10:30am
MEETING ROOM A/B

Thu, Jul 11, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
CONFERENCE ROOM

Fri, Jul 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
YS Program Room

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
YS Program Room

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 2:15pm
Library
This event is full

Sat, Jul 13, 2:15pm - 2:30pm
Library
This event is full

Sat, Jul 13, 2:30pm - 2:45pm
Library

Sat, Jul 13, 2:45pm - 3:00pm
Library

Sun, Jul 14, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
MEETING ROOM A/B

Mon, Jul 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
YS Program Room

Tue, Jul 16, 9:00am - 11:00am

Tue, Jul 16, 9:00am - 11:00am
CONFERENCE ROOM

Tue, Jul 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
MEETING ROOM A

Tue, Jul 16, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Play & Learn Room

Tue, Jul 16, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
CONFERENCE ROOM
This event is full

Tue, Jul 16, 6:00pm - 8:00pm